Latest news

Student Council News

27 Mar 2019
The results are in after a truly exciting election seeing twenty four candidates standing for council positions to lead and represent the student body through the 2019-20 academic year. Congratulations to everyone on the incoming council and to all who stood in a well-conducted campaign process.

Throughout the campaigning, ingenuity and creativity were in evidence with puns-a-plenty. A personal favourite was Ayesha Whitworth’s clever ‘because you’re Whitworth it’ slogan and also our new Vice Chair, Iain Lynn’s campaign: inspired by local academic Dr Victoria Bateman’s use of her body as a campaigning focus, Iain daubed his torso with ‘Vote Lynn‘ for his campaign posters - although thankfully some modesty was preserved!

So, as we bid farewell to our current Year 13 student council of 2018, we look back at another successful and productive group whose crowning achievement must surely be the creation of the much loved Hills Road App, designed and coded by our outgoing communications officer Brendan Coll. The baton has been passed and we now look to our new council of 2019 to fill the large shoes of councils before them. Huge congratulations to incoming Chair - Ogechukwu Nwoka and his team of Vice Chair - Iain Lynn, Secretary - Laila Hatcher, Treasurer - Malu Nair, Events Officer - Joy Sidhom, Charities Officer - Ellen Olley, Societies - Davina Ogunsanwo, Welfare, Equality and Diversity - Arjun Sanghera, Environment - James Desmet, Communications & Social Media - Ed Harris. We look forward to seeing all that you go on to achieve!